How Do I Stop Google from Knowing My Location? – Delete Google Location History

0
154
Spread the love

Many have been wondering, How Do I Stop Google from Knowing My Location? You probably know that Google can track your location and movements through its Google Maps app. But you may not realize that your Android phone is also tracking your movements and activities through several other built-in apps.

How Do I Stop Google from Knowing My Location? - Delete Google Location History

If you really don’t want your phone to be tracking any of your movements and activities, there is a way to turn tracking off most of them. You just need to be aware that you’re probably going to render many of your less usable apps. Such as ride-share apps, weather apps, and, of course, mapping apps, etc.

READ THIS ALSO >>> Windows 11 – Windows 11 System Requirements | Windows 11 Download

How Do I Stop Google from Knowing My Location?

Doing a Google search or using Google Maps gives the company your location to pinpoint accuracy. Why does Google want this? To serve you more relevant ads and search results and so on, but for some people, that’s an unacceptable privacy tradeoff.

Google Location History

Location History is a Google Account–level setting that saves where you go with every mobile device where: You’re signed in to your Google Account, You have turned on Location History, and The device has Location Reporting turned on.

Stop Google from Knowing My Location

The below steps will guide you on stopping Google from knowing your location:

  • Launch you web browser, ensure you are connected to the internet or a WIFI.
  • Enter the URL Google.com.
  • Click on your profile pic and sign into your account.
  • Then click on your profile pic followed by Manage your Google Account
  • From Privacy & Personalization, select Manage your data & personalization
  • Go to Activity controls and select Manage your activity controls
  • Then go to Web & App Activity and switch the toggle to off
  • On the screen that follows (a screen explaining the downsides to turning this feature off), click Pause

And that is all.

Delete Google Location History

But what about all the location data Google has collected? That’s still stored, but if you want to delete it, here’s how to get this done:

  • Launch you web browser, ensure you are connected to the internet or a WIFI.
  • Enter the URL Google.com.
  • Click on your profile pic and sign into your account.
  • From Privacy & Personalization, select Manage your data & personalization
  • Go to Activity controls and select Location History
  • Select Manage activity to go to your Google Timeline
  • Click on the settings icon to the left of a button marked Map, and from the pop-up select Delete all Location History

Confirm that you do indeed want to delete location data, and click Delete Location History

Stop Google Tracking on Android Device

Go to Settings. Find “Accounts” and tap on your Google email account. If there’s more than one account listed, tap on the one you want to change.

  • Launch you web browser, ensure you are connected to the internet or a WIFI.
  • Enter the URL Google.com.
  • Tap on “Google Account.”
  • Scroll down to “Manage your data & personalization” and select it.
  • Look under “Activity controls.” Here, as with the browser version, you can turn off or pause the monitoring of various activities.

If you want more granular control of your activities, you can scroll down and select “Manage your activity controls.” You’ll now have access to a page very similar to the “Activity Controls” webpage.

Google Location Categories

You’ll have four categories that you can toggle on or off:

Google Emergency Location Service

This tells emergency services where you are if there’s a problem; for example, if your car goes off the road and the ambulance needs to find you. You can turn this off if you want, but read the fine print: “If ELS is off, your mobile carrier may still send device location during an emergency call.”

Google Location Accuracy

This uses Wi-Fi and other services to help pinpoint your location. If you want to turn off “Use location,” you need to make sure this is turned off as well.

Google Location History

This leads you to a page where you can pause your device’s collection of your location history. That doesn’t get rid of what’s already been saved; there are instructions for that a little later in this article.

Google Location Sharing.

If you’re sharing your location with family members or friends, you can manage it here.

CHECK THIS POST >>> Google Maps Download – How to Download Google Map

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.