If you have been using one email on Gmail for decades and have decided to delete it, then you’ve come to the right post. Or if you just want to get rid of an old Gmail, the deletion process is simple and fast to do. Gmail Delete Account is a permanent process, which means you won’t be able to recover the account once it is done. Deleting your account can be done at the time, however, have in mind that you won’t be able to get it back. In this guide, I will be showing you how to delete your account, but first, let’s learn what deleting means.
Gmail Delete Account
If you have decided to delete your Gmail, you can do that while retaining your Youtube, Google, and other related accounts. It is easy to do and can be done fastly. Let’s learn what deleting your account means. Now, here’s what happens when you delete your Gmail account;
- You will lose all the data and content in that account such as emails, files, calendars, and photos.
- The account will no longer be used for accessing other Google services.
- You’ll lose access to subscriptions and content you bought with that account on Youtube or Google Play, like apps, movies, games, and TV Shows.
You can also delete a Gmail service. So let’s dive in.
CHECK THIS OUT FOR MORE RELATED CONTENT: Gmail Account Registration – Create a New Gmail Account by Mobile Number | Free Email Account
How to Delete Gmail Account
The process is simple as I have mentioned earlier, have in mind that if you have more than one account, deleting one won’t delete the others. To delete the account, firstly download your information and then follow the instructions below;
- Go to https://myaccount.google.com/.
- On the left, click on Data and Personalization.
- From that page, scroll to the place that says “download, delete or make a plan for your data”.
- Click on “Delete service or your account”.
- Then click on “Delete your account”.
You can learn more about deleting your Gmail account from the Google Support portal.
How to Delete Gmail Service
If you don’t want your Gmail address and emails anymore, you can remove them from your Google Account. Note that deleting them won’t delete the entire Google Account.
Now, here’s what happens when you delete your Gmail service;
- Your emails and mail settings will be deleted.
- The Gmail address will no longer be used for sending and receiving email.
- Your Gmail address can’t be used by anyone else in the future.
- Your Google Account won’t be deleted, only your Gmail service will be removed.
You can still have your activity and purchases you made on Google Play. Follow the instructions below to delete your Gmail service;
- Download your data.
- On your phone or tablet, open your device’s settings app > Google > Manage Your Google Account.
- From the top page, tap “Data & Personalization”.
- Under “Download, delete or make a plan for your data”, tap on the “Delete a service or your account” option.
- Next to “Gmail”, tap on “Delete”.
- Then follow the on-screen instructions that will be shown to complete the process.
- Go to your https://myaccount.google.com/.
- On the left navigation panel, click on “Data & Personalization”.
- On the download, delete or make a plan for your data panel, click “Delete a service or your account”.
- Then click on “Delete a Service”.
- Next to “Gmail, click on Delete”.
- To commence the process, follow the on-screen instructions that will be shown.
iPhone & iPad;
- Open the Gmail app.
- On the right top side, tap your profile or initial > Manage Your Google Account.
- At the top, tap on “Data & Personalization”.
- Under “Download, delete or make a plan for your data, tap on “Delete a service or your account”.
- Tap “Delete a Service”. Have in mind that you might be required to sign in.
- Then next to Gmail, tap “Delete”.
- To commence the process of deletion Gmail service, follow the on-screen instructions that will be shown.
Just like the service will be deleted from your account.